After the Supreme Court overturned Roe v. Wade last summer, abortion laws are now different in every state. You might be wondering: Is abortion legal in Kansas? Where can I go for an abortion if I live in Texas, Oklahoma, Missouri, or Arkansas, where abortion is restricted?
As of April 2023, here are Kansas’ abortion laws.
Abortion is legal before 22 weeks
Abortion is legal up till 21 weeks, 6 days of pregnancy. A 22-week-old fetus is at the “age of viability,” meaning it can possibly survive if it is born.
How do you calculate how far along your pregnancy is? One way is to count since the first day of your last menstrual period. Another more accurate way is to get a sonogram. At A Better Choice, we offer sonograms for free by appointment. Call now to schedule an appointment.
Does a minor need parental consent to get an abortion in Kansas?
Yes, if you are under 18 years of age you will need signed permission from a parent or guardian in order to get an abortion.
What other abortion laws exist in Kansas in 2023?
Before getting an abortion in Kansas, you are legally required to receive counseling about all your options at least 24 hours before the abortion. It’s important that you fully understand the risks, procedures, and alternatives of abortion.
At A Better Choice, we offer personalized options counseling for free. We will give unlimited time and attention to you as you analyze your situation and decide for yourself what the best choice will be for you. Call today to schedule a free and confidential appointment.